The solar system is finished!  I’m really happy with how most of it turned out, but Saturns’ rings were rather tricky and not too impressive in the end.  The detail on Eris (the planet at the far right) is of course purely imaginary.  I included spots of red on Kim’s request.

This may be the last sonogram we get of Emerson.  The doctor told us that while most of his body is right on schedule for weight and size, his head is about three weeks ahead of schedule (apparently not in an unhealthy way, just in a ‘big heads are hard to fit way’).  So Emerson may be an early baby!

Can you see his face?  It took me a while to see it, but he’s turned 3/4 toward us, and his mouth is open just a little bit.  I had to bump up the contrast because a sonogram is only supposed to be a cross-section, but the sonogramologist (<grin>) was able to capture this shadow.

Mom already posted the view from her cabin on her blog, but I thought I might add a couple that I took, too.  What a view to wake up to, eh?

Here’s a panorama I stitched together in Photoshop.  In this thumbnail, you can really see where it was stitched.  I tried to set up an HLR shot, too, but I didn’t do a very good job, and I just abandoned that in photoshop.

I was just telling my neighbor, Brent, that we never see praying mantises any more, and what do you know, but one appears in the street?  This guy seems to have missed the memo about ‘praying’ though, and prefers diving or directing traffic.

Curiously, he was docile enough to accept some posing corrections with a stick, thought he still wouldn’t fold his hands like a proper gentleman.

