Well, here’s another catch-up in a hurry update!

Movies (of which we’ve seen many lately!):

You Don’t Mess with the Zohan, The Love Guru, and Get Smart

Of the three, Get Smart was definitely my favorite, and not just because Anne Hathaway was in it.  The humor was a little subtler in it – a little more natural.  Of course it was silly, but the characters knew when it was silly and laughed or rolled their eyes.  Steve Carell’s Maxwell Smart was a bit of a putz, but also had skills enough to be suitable as an agent.  Terence Stamp always makes a good villain, too.

The Love Guru was second best, just because Mike Meyers has the best goofy grin, and because it’s hard to go wrong with Bollywood-style dance sequences scattered throughout the movie.  The story seemed a slow at times, but the celebrity appearances were a nice touch.  Mariska Hartigay’s was especially funny.

Zohan was pretty funny, and don’t get me wrong: I don’t mind the sex jokes.  But there were just so many, and it was like each had to outdo the last, like a group of boys trying to win the gross-out title.  They got a bit out of control.  It also seemed like a bunch of the jokes were in-jokes – like they might be funnier of you were a New Yorker or Semitic.  There were pauses for laughs I just didn’t see.  Oh well.  There were still plenty of pauses where I did laugh.

Kung Fu Panda and Wall-E

Oh, man – Kung Fu Panda was great! I don’t know if it was better than Iron Man, but it was pretty close.  The art was terrific, the characters interesting – the whole thing was fun.  If it weren’t for the long and sordid history of terrible movie->video game adaptations, I’d think such a game would be great fun.

I’d been looking forward to Wall-E since the first previews, and I can’t say I was disappointed.  It was maybe a little too preachy at times, but who can really argue with a cute robot love story?

Gadgets

The new electric lawnmower arrived, and went back.  Amazon was great about it – all it cost me was some time, but the shipping cost them a bundle.  The new electric lawnmower arrived again, and it’s fantastic!  I cut the whole yard, front and back, on half a charge.  And this wasn’t an ordinary lawn-mow – the back yard had been growing for almost two months, the front yard for between 3 weeks and 6 weeks.  True – the electric mower didn’t have the horse-power the old gas mower did, but instead of sputtering and stalling when it hit deep grass, it just slowed, and as soon as I backed up it spun right up again without needing a pull start.  That is a winning quality.  When I just walked slower, it plowed through with no problem.  Since it’s battery powered, I don’t have to worry about running over any cords.  I’m very excited.

The other gadget we got (this one was a Father’s Day present) was the Flip.  It’s kind of ingenious – kind of obvious.  It’s just a little sixty-minute video camera with a USB connector and not much else – no real bells or whistles unless you think of a 2x zoom as a bell.  It’s easy to use, it’s small, and I think it’s perfect for putting baby videos on youTube.  I think it’s the super-eight of the decade.

Lastly, a bug photo.

This bug (we have a lot of them, but I haven’t been able to identify them yet – I think it’s an Acanthocephala) came inside the screen on the front porch to molt.  He hung out for awhile, so I thought I’d get a few pictures of him and his former self.

