This last weekend I finished reading The Foundation Trilogy, by Isaac Asimov.

That in itself is not too remarkable – the story was okay, the writing okay – I think a lot of Asimov’s genius must be contextual, in that it was revolutionary when it was written, but for those who come behind the revolution, it seems a bit more mundane. Or, perhaps Asimov just doesn’t resonate with me the way someone like Heinlein did. I’ve wanted to read an Asimov book for awhile, and now that itch is scratched.

The more interesting aspect of the book, for me anyway, was that it’s something I got from Kim’s dad – or at least from his estate. It was pretty clear the book had been read thoroughly, at least once, so I felt like it was a bit of something I could have in common with him, beside a few odd phone conversations. 🙂

