This year marks the second iteration of my Christmas Butterscotch cookie tradition! (Butterscotch chips are, by the way, grossly underrated and underused as cookie accessories. People often say to me, “Oh, I don’t like butterscotch” [munch, munch] “but I love these!” It’s not me. It’s the butterscotch. Well, maybe it’s partly me.)

I forgot the recipe Quaker Oats oatmeal cookies, but with a little searching, I found it online here. I collected all my ingredients, bought the things I needed (like copious numbers of butterscotch chips, so there would be enough for the cookies even if I ate a few), and set to baking.

Well, I could tell pretty quickly that something was wrong. After I mixed the butter, eggs, and sugars, I didn’t have a creamy, fluffy mixture – I had a brick. Oh well – I couldn’t let that stop me, right? Let me tell you, it was not an easy task mixing 6 cups of oats and 2 bags of butterscotch chips into a brick. Even the Kitchenmaid wasn’t up for it; I had to do it by hand. And forget using a spoon to scoop out tablespoon “drops” of the batter – I had to break off chunks of the mixture and reform them into small, loosely aggregated balls.

The results were more like scones than cookies. Yet they were still pretty good. They stayed at home with Kim and I.

Too Dry!

Somewhat distraught, I decided to consult the source, the Quaker himself, and look at the recipe under the lid. Same recipe, but twice as many eggs and sticks of butter! Hah! So I put the extra butter and eggs into the mixture before remembering I’d already made almost a third of the batch. Needless to say, the rest of the batch was a little too moist.

Too Moist!

They went in the Christmas cookies anyway, and aside from a lot of broken cookies, they seemed to be fine.

Finally, I made a whole new batch, and these were perfect. Huzzah!

Just Right!

So the final recipe, with annotations by me, is as follows:

3/4 c. firmly packed brown sugar (A little more is fine. Also, this probably should be tasted several times for freshness.)

1/2 c. granulated sugar
2 sticks butter
2 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla (A teaspoon means a heavy shake for good ingredients, like vanilla and cinnamon and nutmeg.)

1 tsp. nutmeg

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 1/2 c. all purpose flour
1 tsp. baking soda (A teaspoon means a quick dash for baking soda and salt.)

1 tsp. salt

3 c. Quaker Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked) (If you’re making a double batch, and you’d be crazy not to, just dump in the whole cannister of oats. It’s close enough.)

1 bag Butterscotch chips (You may need a little more than a bag, since some of the chips should be tasted for freshness.)

 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Beat together butter and sugars until light and fluffy.

Beat in egg and vanilla.

Combine flour, baking soda, salt and spices; add to butter mixture, mixing well. (If you just put them into a constantly mixing Kitchenaid as you go, they combine pretty well. The extra love I added covers the taste of any baking soda pockets. Besides, you’re less likely to have baking soda pockets if you measure your teaspoon very conservatively.)

Stir in oats and butterscotch chips.

Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet. (Fah! Cover your cookie sheet with parchment paper, and then the cookies and the paper slide straight to the cooling racks. Also, ‘tablespoonfuls’ are a rough guideline. Once you get a sense for how big they are (or rather how small they are), just use your freshly cleaned fingers. That’s the only way to get love into each cookie individually.)

Bake 8 to 9 minutes for a chewy cookie, 10 to 11 minutes for a crisp cookie. (So just bake for 9 minutes.)

Cool 1 minute on cookie sheet; remove to wire cooling rack.

Store in tightly covered container. 4 1/2 dozen. (Just remember, the more butterscotch chips you put in, the further your batter stretches. But in 4 bags, and who knows? You might get 8 dozen!)

